Tennessee Nurses Association

Tennessee’s constituent member of the American Nurses Association (ANA) is the Tennessee Nurses Association (TNA). The organization was established in 1905. Their first major accomplishment was successfully lobbying to get the state’s first Nurse Practice Act passed to become law in 1911 after two previous failed attempts in 1907 and 1909.

The association’s stated mission is:

“… to promote and protect the registered nurse and to advance the practice of nursing in order to assure a healthier Tennessee.”

A Board of Directors and a House of Delegates governs the organization and are elected by association members from all of its local districts. The Board is comprised of all of the district presidents plus five officers. TNA also elects representatives to the ANA’s House of Delegates

TNA has divided the state of Tennessee into districts. The districts are generally based on geographic areas, more specifically sets of counties.

At the time of this writing there are 11 TNA districts defined as follows:

  • District 1: Shelby and Fayette counties
  • District 2: Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Claiborne, Knox, Loudon, Morgan, Roane, Scott, Sevier, and Union counties
  • District 3 (Music City District): Cheatham, Davidson, Dickson, Giles, Hickman, Houston, Lawrence, Lewis, Marshall, Maury, Montgomery, Perry, Robertson, Stewart, Sumner, Trousdale, Wayne, and Williamson counties
  • District 4: Bledsoe, Bradley, Grundy, Hamilton, Marion, McMinn, Meigs, Monroe, Polk, Rhea, and Sequatchie counties
  • District 5: Carter, Cocke, Grainger, Greene, Hamblen, Hancock, Hawkins, Jefferson, Johnson, Sullivan, Unicoi, and Washington counties
  • District 6 (Golden Circle District): Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Gibson, Hardeman, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Madison, and McNairy counties
  • District 8: Bedford, Cannon, Coffee, Franklin, Lincoln, Moore, and Warren counties
  • District 9 (Upper Cumberland District): Clay, Cumberland, Dekalb, Fentress, Jackson, Macon, Overton, Pickett, Putnam, Smith, Van Buren, and White counties
  • District 10: Benton, Carroll, Henry, Humphreys, Lake, Obion, and Weakley counties
  • District 12: Dyer, Lauderdale, and Tipton counties
  • District 15: Wilson and Rutherford counties

TNA Memberships

Nurses joining the Tennessee Nurses Association have the option of a full membership to both TNA and ANA or a TNA state-only membership. Those opting for state-only membership are full voting members of TNA and are entitled to TNA benefits only. Those opting for full membership are voting members of both TNA and ANA and are entitled to all benefits of both associations.

By joining TNA, you will receive email alerts and updates regarding important legislative issues. You will receive a free subscription to the TNA News Express for Members newsletter. You get access to the members-only section of the TNA site which contains all sorts of resources. You also receive discounts to TNA sponsored continuing education events.

TNA advocates for nurses and the profession at the local, state, and national levels. Through its association with the ANA, TNA can influence national health care policy and legislation. The Tennessee Nurses Political Action committee (TN-PAC) works to protect the interests of Tennessee’s RNs on the local and state levels.

Members in the association have opportunities to network with nurses around the states from a variety of areas and settings. They have opportunities to gain valuable leadership skills by serving in elected offices or volunteering for committees.

TNA members can benefit financially as well through various affinity partnerships. Substantial discounts are offered on insurance, education, accreditation exams, and more.

Contact Information

If you would like to join TNA or request more information about the association, you can use the contact information below:

Tennessee Nurses Association
545 Mainstream Drive, Suite 405
Nashville, TN 37228

Phone: (615) 254-0350
FAX: (615) 254-0303
Hours: 8:30am – 4:30pm